Asana - a steady and comfortable meditatifve pose according to Patanjali. A specific position of the body which
channelizes prana, opens the chakras and removes energy blocks.

Ashtanga yoga -The eight limbed yoga of Patanjali: yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana,

Bandha -"binding, bondage;" a posture in which organs and muscles are contracted and controlled creating a
psychomuscular energy lock which redirects the flow of energy or prana in the body and locks it into a specific area.

Chakra – A sanskrit word meaning "wheel" or "circle"; usually refers to the centers or points of spiritual power that
resides in or compose the human astral / subtle body. They are considered to have correspondences with the physical
body and function as psychic portals to the world at large.

Hatha yoga – Science of yoga which purifies the whole physical body by means of asana, pranayama, mudra,
bandha, concentration; a prelude to raja yoga and samadhi

Iyengar yoga – Form of hatha yoga founded by B.K.S. Iyengar. It is firmly based on the traditional eight limbs of yoga
emphasizing the development of strength, stamina, flexibility and balance, as well as concentration. It is unique for its
use of props such as straps, blocks and cushions to assist in doing the postures with correct alignment.

Mantra – A sacred verbal formula repeated in prayer, meditation or incantation, such as an invocation to God or a
syllable or portion of scripture containing mystical potentialities.

Mudra -literally means "gesture;" physical, mental and psychic attitude which expresses and chanels cosmic energy
within mind and body        

Namaste – An Indian greeting simply translated "I bow to the divine in you"; from the root words:

Namas - bow, reverential salutation (from "Nam" -humbly submitting)

Te - to you, acknowledging the divine presence in another.
Traditionally said while bringing the palms together at the heart in prayer position and lightly bowing the head and

Om or Aum – Cosmic vibration of the universe; universal mantra; represents the 4 states of consciousness: conscious,
subconscious, unconscious, supraconscious.

Prana – vital energy force sustaining life and creation, permeating the whole of creation and existing in both the
macrocosms and microcosms.

Pranayama -technique of breathing and breath retention which increases the pranic capacity

Raja yoga -The supreme yoga: union through concentration of mind

Sanskrit - The ancient sacred language of the Aryans. The sanskrit language possesses voluminous and valuable works
in prose and in verse, some of which, like the Vedas, date back, in the opinion of certain scholars, to the year 30,000
BC or even far beyond. Almost every phrase of philosophic thought expressed and studied in the West, is represented
in one form or another in ancient Hindu literature. Besides this, these old Sanskrit writings are replete with recondite
subjects dealing with the wondrous.

Savasana – sava / shava means corpse or dead body. A resting posture in which the senses are drawn inward and the
physical body is at complete ease.

Vinyasa - A sequence of movements and postures connected with inhalations and exhalation.
(vinyasa flow)
Join our mailing list now
"Never doubt that a small group of
thoughtful, committed citizens can
change the world; indeed, it's the only
thing that ever has." -Margaret Mead